Ruining a pony

You know that Jonathan Coulton song “Skullcrusher Mountain”? It’s the one where a mad scientist woos his kidnapped ladylove by, among other things, presenting her with a half-pony, half-monkey monster. “What’s with all the screaming?” he asks. “Did I use too many monkeys? Isn’t it enough to know that I ruined a pony making a gift for you?”

Eco-minded DIYers have their own way of ruining ponies. They’ll take perfectly good objects and turn them into garbage. Viz: This header image from the Facebook page “Repurposed Recycled Reused Reclaimed Restored:”wrenches2My God, those poor tortured wrenches. They look like victims of that bad kid from Toy Story. I want to rescue those wrenches, cradle them, send them to an honorable grave. There’s more than environmentalist fervor at work here. I sense a febrile, twisted glee, a widdershins-swerving Black Sabbath mockery of recycling. (With 241,453 likes. I’m just saying.)

Another pony:

417859_156663021174120_1827907102_n

OUCH. Lotta monkeys on that one.

“Oh, and I’m so into you, But I’m way too smart for you…”

Leave a Reply

