Hand-Crafted Felt Board Equals Existential Purgatory

Today, a personal craft story. A couple years ago I decided to make a felt “to do” board. Here it is:

felt_board
Isn’t it cute? The idea is that I stick the little velcro-backed felt symbols on the top portion of the board to show my goals for the day, then move each one from “I will” to “I did” as I do it.

(I just love felt appliques. When I was a kid my mom made me a stocking with appliques of an angel and a decorated Christmas tree, and it freaking RULED. A few years ago I copied her technique to make holiday stockings for myself, my best friend and the cats. They’re super cute.)

So this felt board was supposed to become a treasured part of my life. Except it didn’t. Somehow I just never got around to sticking the symbols on there. Eventually the board ended up on a shelf under a stack of magazines.

I stumbled across it again last week and decided to clean the dust off. As I did, I realized something awful:

I no longer remember what any of the symbols are for!

My lovingly stitched icons — because, yes, I actually embroidered them — are ciphers. Take this one:

felt-patch-explosion

What did I want an explosion for? What did it signify?

Or this one:

felt-patch-mountain
I know it’s a mountain, complete with foothills and a tiny tree, but dang if I know why I made it. I’d say it had to do with getting outside (nature, you know), but then what’s this other tree for?

felt-patch-tree

How about this pair of lungs? Do they tell me to take my asthma medication, or perhaps do cardio?

felt-patch-lungs

Should I take a bath, or have a good cry?

felt-patch-water

Then there are the stars and puffballs:

felt-patches
I think the puffballs might be related to writing freelance queries (queries = assignments = money = green) but the stars are a total mystery.

At least there’s a lot of happiness on the board. I embroidered the smiley face and the big grin.

felt-patch-smiley-face felt-patch-smile felt-patch-heart

If nothing else, the board is still DARN cute, right? But the mystery of the symbols will bother me until I can either figure them out, or come up with new meanings for them. Thoughts?

3 responses to “Hand-Crafted Felt Board Equals Existential Purgatory

  1. I think Freud would have a lot to say about your symbols. All you’re missing is a cigar and a train tunnel.

    On the other hand, your lovely embroidered whatsits would make a really cute mobile.

Leave a Reply

